Reasons To Fly

Reasons To Fly (2022)

1. Southern Song
2. I Save You Lodi
3. Is It Still Called Love ?
4. Mrs. Gogo
(Josh Johnston & Anne-Cassandre Ledoux)
5. Mountaineering (Ronan Swift)
6. Strange Weirdos (Loudon Wainwright III) – this track may not be available on all digital platforms
7. Melt Into The Room
(Josh Johnston & Marianne Milde)
8. Darkness By Your Head
(Josh Johnston & Doug Kinch)
9. He Is Here  (Josh Johnston)
10. Reasons To Fly  (Josh Johnston & Jessi Mason)

All songs copyright control
except Track 6 published by Universal Pictures Music

Produced by Josh Johnston & Anthony Gibney
Recorded & Mixed by Anthony Gibney
Mastered by Simon Francis

Josh Johnston – Piano, Electric Piano, Vocals
Brian Hogan – Bass, Electric Guitar & Weird Noises
David Hingerty – Drums & Percussion
Patrick Groenland – Electric & Acoustic Guitar
Jack Maher – Electric & Acoustic Guitar
Tom Portman – Dobro
Bill Blackmore – Trumpet & Flugelhorn
Johannes Aspman – Trumpet
Marco Francescangeli – Saxes & Clarinet
Steve Mathieson – Trombone
Aisling Bridgeman – Violin
Rory Pierce – Cello
Bríd Cannon – Violin
Cian Murphy – Double Bass

Horns & Strings arranged by Marco Francescangeli except horns on Strange Weirdos & Reasons To Fly arranged by Josh Johnston

Cover art by Des MacMahon
CD Cover design by Rob Molomby

“It’s very strong on all fronts. It calls in, says what it has to say and goes home. But it’s the kind of visitor you’d want to call again.”
Jackie Hayden, referring to Southern Song (first track on the album)

“What a great album”
Noel Casey, Dublin City FM

“Mountaineering . . . . . That’s gorgeous . . . . I don’t know him at all. I just love the album”
Marty Whelan, Lyric FM

Four years and a pandemic in the making, Reasons To Fly is the name of pianist / singer / songwriter Josh Johnston’s 6th solo album.  It is an album of stories about movement; the need for it, the need to sometimes stay still. Written with Irish and international songwriters, the characters in these stories are met with a sympathetic voice and are musically wrapped in a tender and passionate musical backdrop. The musicians in the band on the record include Dave Hingerty (The Frames, Kíla, Josh Ritter) and Jack Maher (Declan O’Rourke, Sharon Shannon). The album was produced by Josh and Anthony Gibney (Jane Willow, Nick Kelly, Gerr Walsh)

Reasons To Fly will be launched on 18th June 2022 with a concert in Dublin Unitarian Church and will be available to stream, download digitally and purchase on CD from the previous

Buy the album now on CD and digitally from Josh’s Bandcamp page

Radio / YouTube Singles from the album

Strange Weirdos – September 2021

Mountaineering  – November 2021

Southern Song – February 2022

(c) 2022 Shandon Records

piano / composition / arranging